The little town of Perast is situated at the foot of St. Elijah Hill (873 m), opposite the narrow Verige strait, where the innermost bays of Risan and Kotor converge. This easternmost shore was the earliest inhabited area in the Boka. The remains of a Neolithic culture (3500 BC) have been discovered in the caves of Spila above Perast and various archeological finds provide evidence of civilization dating from Illyrian, Roman and early Christian periods. The town was named after the Illyrian tribe Pirusta and it had a very rich history. This small baroque town reached its height of glory in the 17th and 18th centuries. At that time, Perast had a merchant fleet of around 100 ships. Its sailors were well-known for their skill and courage.
The town slopes down from the highway to a narrow waterfront road (Obala Marka Martinovica) that runs along its length. At its heart is St Nicholas’ Church, set on a small square lined with date palms and the bronze busts of famous citizens. It was built in the 17th century.
Two small picturesque islands are located in front of Perast: St. George (Sv. Djordje) which is a natural island, and Our Lady of the Rock (Gospa od Skrpjela) a manmade island. On the island of St. George there is a small church, erected in the 17th century and an old cemetery where most of the seafarers from Perast were buried. The island of Our Lady of the Rock was artificially built by piling stones over a sea rock. The church was erected in 1630.